Korinthia - Κορινθια


choose your destinations by move/press the mouse on the red dots and city name 

διαλεξτε τον προορισμο σας πατωντας πανω στα κοκκινα στιγματα και με το ονομα της πολης


Corinthia is one of the regional units of Greece. It is part of the region of Peloponnese. It is situated around the city of Corinth, in the north-eastern part of the Peloponnese peninsula.

Corinthia borders on Achaea to the west and southwest, the Gulf of Corinth and Attica to the north, the Saronic Gulf to the east, Argolis to the south and Arcadia to the southwest.

The Corinth Canal, carrying ship traffic between the Ionian and the Aegean seas, is about 4 km east of Corinth, cutting through the Isthmus of Corinth. Corinthia is increasingly seen as part of the wider metropolitan area of Athens, with municipalities, such as Agioi Theodoroi in the easternmost part of the regional unit, being considered suburbs of Athens.

The area around Corinth and the western Saronic including the southeastern part are made up of fault lines including the Corinth Fault, the Poseidon Fault and a fault running from Perahcora to Agioi Theodoroi. More faults are near Kiras Vrysi and Sofiko.

The eastern coastlands of Corinthia are made up of pastures and farmlands where olives, grapes, tomatoes and vegetables are cultivated. The rest of Corinthia is mountainous. Its tallest mountain is Kyllini in its west and the largest lake is Lake Stymphalos situated in the southwest. The reservoir will become one of the largest lakes after its completion.

The climate of Corinthia consists of hot summers and mild winters in the coastal areas and somewhat colder winters with occasional snowfalls in the mountainous areas.



Ο νομός Κορινθίας βρίσκεται στην βορειοανατολική Πελοπόννησο. Πρωτεύουσά του είναι η Κόρινθος και έχει πληθυσμό 154.624 κατοίκους (απογραφή 2001).

Μετά την ίδρυση του ελληνικού κράτους η Κορινθία, η Αργολίδα και η Ναυπλία αποτέλεσαν μία διοίκηση με το όνομα Διοίκησις Αργολίδος. Το 1833 με Βασιλικό Διάταγμα (ΒΔ) του Όθωνα της 3/15 Απριλίου οι τρεις περιοχές αποτέλεσαν τις Επαρχίες του Νομού Αργολιδο-Κορινθίας. Η κάθε επαρχία διοικούνταν απο έπαρχο και είχε επαρχιακό συμβούλιο. Το 1836 με νέο ΒΔ οι Νομοί μετονομάστηκαν σε Διοικήσεις και οι επαρχίες σε Υποδιοικήσεις και ιδρύθηκε και μια τέραρτη υποδιοίκηση, της Σικυώνος. Η αλλαγή αυτή ανατράπηκε με νόμο του 1845, με τη Σικυώνα όμως να παραμένει ως τέταρτη επαρχία πλέον. Με νέους νόμους του 1887 και του 1892 οι επαρχίες και οι έπαρχοι καταργήθηκαν, ενώ το 1900 καταργήθηκαν τα επαρχιακά συμβούλια.

Το 1899 η Κορινθία αποχώρησε από την Αργολιδο-Κορινθία και αποτέλεσε ξεχωριστό νομό με μία επαρχία. Η αλλαγή αυτή ανατράπηκε το 1909 όταν με νέο νόμο ο νομός Κορινθίας ενσωματώθηκε και πάλι στην Αργολιδο-Κορινθία. Ο σημερινός νομός Κορινθίας συστάθηκε το 1949.



Απαγορεύεται κατά τον Ν.2121/1993 και κατά τη διεθνή σύμβαση της Βέρνης η αναδημοσίευση και γενικά η αναπαραγωγή ολική, μερική, περιληπτική η κατά παράφραση, η διασκευή, απόδοση του περιεχομένου του παρόντος web site με οποιοδήποτε μέσο και τρόπο, μηχανικό, ηλεκτρονικό, φωτοτυπικό, ηχογράφησης ή άλλο, άνευ προηγούμενης έγγραφης άδειας του Γιωργου Τρουλινου. Φωτογραφιες (c) Γιωργος Τρουλινος, Κειμενα: Wikepedia και Βικιπαίδεια


copyright 2011 landscapes.gr || Design & Development adtech.gr || All rights reserved